2019 George Main Stakes: Race History

Source: racingandsports.com /
Winx winning the 2017 George Main Stakes

Winx winning the 2017 George Main Stakes Picture: Racing and Sports

Greats win the George Main Stakes run at Randwick on Saturday.

Winx has won it the last three years. There won’t be one that good in the 2019 George Main Stakes (1600m) at Randwick on Saturday.

2019 George Main Stakes: Nominations


The George Main Stakes is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for open class horses at Randwick conducted by the Australian Turf Club.

The George Main Stakes is run over 1600m. It was first run in 1945 and was won by Modulation.

Most runnings of the George Main Stakes have been over 1600m.

2017 Colgate Optic White (George Main) Stakes – Winx

The George Main Stakes has always been a Group 1.

The race was named after George Main who was Chairman of the AJC.

TJ Smith won the race an amazing 11 times.

Before Winx second win, the previous three George Main Stakes winners also won the Doncaster Mile in the previous Autumn.

Horses often use the race as the lead up to the Epsom Handicap. It used to be the week before but is now run a fortnight before.

Ten of the previous eleven winners of the George Main Stakes were Group 1 winners prior to winning this.

The Tramway/George Main double (6 times) – Sincero most recent in 2011.

The Warwick (Winx) Stakes/George Main (13 times) – Winx most recent in 2018.

Cox Plate winners to contest the George Main Stakes in recent years are Might And Power, Sunline and Winx.

There have been only two double figure odds winners in 20 years – Road To Rock and Adam.

The 2007 race was not held due to the Equine Influenza break out.

The George Main Stakes is worth $500,000 in 2019.

Notable winners of the George Main Stakes include Winx (2016/2017/2018), Kermadec (2015), Sacred Falls (2014), Streama (2013), Shoot Out (2012), Sincero (2011), More Joyous (2010), Mentality (2008), Racing To Win (2006), Grand Armee (2004), Lonhro (2003), Defier (2002), Viscount (2001), Shogun Lodge (1999), Encounter (1997), Juggler (1996), Durbridge (1994), Coronation Day (1992), Shaftesbury Avenue (1990), Vo Rogue (1989), Campaign King (1987), Inspired (1984), Emancipation (1983), Kingston Town (1981/1982), Hartshill (1975), Baguette (1971), Wenona Girl (1963), Martello Towers (1961), San Domenico (1950) and Shannon (1946/1947).

The 2018 George Main Stakes was won by Winx from Le Romain and Egg Tart.